Your lake Garda property market
Your lake Garda property market

Find your dream property on Lake Garda!

A lake of three provinces

A lot of people do not know that Lake Garda is divided into three provinces: while the northern top forms part of Garda Trentino, the eastern shore from Malcesine to Valeggio sul Mincio forms part of the province of Veneto. The part of the lake stretching from Sirmione in the south to Limone in the north-west belongs to the province of Lombardy.

Garda Trentino

Only a small stretch along the northern shores of Lake Garda belongs to the Trentino region. Riva del Garda and Torbole, those two beautiful small towns on the lake shore, are popular destinations for windsurfers, sailors, mountain bikers, climbers and freaks of motorcycling. The northern top of Italy’s largest lake is certainly an ideal location for active sportspersons. Already in the past the pleasant climate of this location attracted many famous poets, who came here to take a rest from their everyday lives. Numerous splendid villas built during the Hapsburg dynasty reflect this.


In terms of area Lombardy has the largest share of Lake Garda. The region starts in mountainous Limone, runs along the Lombardian mountains to the bay of Salò and near Peschiera borders with the Veneto. The small towns along the western coast, in particular Salò, Gardone, Toscolano Maderno and Gargnano have a charm of their own, which is due to their impressive manor houses from the Belle Epoche and fantastic lemon groves, which are a pleasure to look at. Along the southern coast popular lakeside resorts such as Manerba, Moniga del Garda and the largest town on Lago di Garda, Desenzano, follow. In the hilly hinterland, the Valtènesi, wine is produced and olives are grown.


From Malcesine to Peschiera the eastern coast is lovingly called “Riviera delle Olive”; this is absolutely justified as extensive olive groves with their silvery shimmer are nestled into the hills. In the beautiful hinterland a variety of different vines are grown, from their grapes fruity and refined wines are produced. The wine growing regions of Valpolicella, Bardolino, Custoza and part of the DOC Lugana belong to the Veneto region. Picturesque villages line the eastern coast such as Torri del Benaco, Bardolino and Lazise, to name just a few! A further advantage: Verona, the capital of the province and world cultural heritage, can easily be reached.

More useful information